• Dança 2
Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco, Professor Emeritus at NOVA FCSH and President Emeritus and founder of INET-md, has been elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences' mission is to honour excellence and bring together experts from all fields of knowledge "to cultivate all the arts and sciences which may contribute to the advancement, honour, dignity and happiness of a free, independent and upright people".
The name Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco will join an extensive list of notables, including John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, George Washington, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria Mitchell and Alexander Graham Bell, Margaret Mead, Jonas Salk, Barbara McClintock, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr, Aaron Copland, Martha Graham, John Hope Franklin, Georgia O'Keeffe, E. O. Wilson, Madeleine Albright, Colin Powell and N. Scott Momaday. 
International honorary members include Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Wislawa Szymborska, Laurence Olivier, Mary Leakey, Gabriel Garcia Márquez, Akira Kurosawa and Nelson Mandela. 
On behalf of all the voices in its team, INET-md couldn't be more honoured by the appointment of its founder, who was responsible for introducing ethnomusicology to Portugal, and who for over three decades has consistently promoted and disseminated our forms of expressive culture in the most diverse and prestigious academic institutions around the world.
The inauguration ceremony will take place in Cambridge (USA) on 21 September 2024.